How to you demonstrate urgency? Do you cry from the rooftops that things need to change ? Do you lead by example and hope others follow? Or does the urgent task seem so overwhelming that you avoid it as much as possible?

I have been known to do all three. Take, for example, my messy house. When it reaches a ‘point of no return’, you may witness a brief yet powerful tirade about how messy the house is and we all need to work as a team and it needs to be all hands on deck or nothing will get done. Or you may see me start cleaning while my family is on an electronic device or watching tv and I just happen to make myself noticed so that pretty soon they either flee or jump on board. And then there are times when I’m finding lots of reasons to avoid it – the weather is too nice, I have errands to run, I’ll make time tomorrow(which never works), etc.

I know that if I truly want things to change, the second option is usually the best. Today, I came across a quote recently attributed to Emma Watson, known for her portrayal of Hermione and now Belle, and whom, I just discovered, is a UN Women Goodwill Ambassador.

“If not me, who? If not now, when?”

Go and do, and do not hesitate. There is urgency in her words, but it is placed upon ourselves, not on the actions of others. Because what is urgent to me may not be seen in the same light by others. But if I yell and scream, people will be turned off.  And if I retreat then no change will come at all.

But if I just start..get out there and communicate my message in words and actions, change will come. It might not come as urgently as I originally hoped, but it will happen. For me, this is easier said than done, but I believe it is something I need to focus on and strive for in my work and at home.

Because I can only stand to be in a messy house for so long…

 

